Home

Ok so today I decided it was time to make a dent in the potatoes because for no particular reason I just never get round to cooking them? With all the heinous weather we are having I chose to make a tortilla and pretend like we were in Spain!

Although I have cooked them before I haven’t ever made one that I felt was tasty enough to consider cooking again, but I found Moro: the cookbook  in the charity shop the other day (£2… bargain!!) and I decided it was time for another attempt! And I have to say I’m a little bit proud with the result! But all credit goes to the cookbook which I did actually follow religiously today! Whatever method I used to cook a tortilla before was nothing like this one and what made this recipe a winner (and I’d like to think more authentic?) is that the onions are cooked very slowly in a lot of olive oil and then that onion infused olive oil is used to fry the actual tortilla and the potatoes are also fried first.

So below is the recipe, it makes a big tortilla! Plenty to eat for lunch tomorrow 🙂 Also I recommend Moro by the way; it’s a gorgeous book that looks at my favourite types of food; spanish and muslim mediterranean cuisine everything just looks wonderful (I cooked an awesome lebanese yoghurt and pistachio pudding from it, yummmm).

Tortilla

Tortilla

10 tbsp olive oil
700g potatoes, peeled, halved lengthways and sliced into 5mm slices set aside sprinkled with 1/2 tsp salt
2 onions. peeled, halved and thinly sliced
750ml of sunflower oil (this is for deep frying the potatoes, I didn’t have this much and just did it in batches)
6 eggs

– Heat the olive oil in a large frying pan until very hot but not smoking.
– Add the onions and a pinch of salt and turn the heat to low, cook them for 30 – 40 mins until soft and golden. stir occasionally. Then strain and keep the onion infused oil.
– Meanwhile heat the sunflower oil on a medium heat and fry the potatoes until cooked but not frying so much that they colour. strain and keep oil to use again.
– Beat the eggs and add the onions and potatoes. Season.
– Return the onion olive oil to the frying pan and heat on high until it is beginning to smoke. With one hand shaking the frying pan pour the mixture in with the other and turn to low.
– Cook for 3- 5 mins, turn out on to a plate, reheat a bit more oil and fry the other side. the tortilla is ready if it feel solid in  the middle. leave to cool slightly before slicing.

Leave a Reply

