Home

Every veg box I have had so far has given me a HUGE cucumber! And although I’m not that inventive with them, don’t get me wrong I like them- but there’s only so many salads and sarnies I manage to get cucumber in whilst it’s still fresh and then I’m still left with more!

So I came across a recipe in the River Cottage Preserves Handbook for ‘Sweet cucumber pickle’ and now theres no cucumber wastage and if I’m honest, it’s being enjoyed tenfold! The result is a tangy crunchy ‘pickle’ that goes well in salads and wraps but also works really well with fish (think rainbow trout and salmon). It’s also a no cook recipe that involves few ingredients and doesn’t take long at all…. perfect! The most time consuming part is slicing the cucumber as thin as you can, unless you are sensible and have some clever contraption to do this for you!

I encourage anyone who always leaves their cucumber too long in the fridge (ooh er) to try this! More versatile, ready prepared and lasts up to two weeks!

Below is my slightly edited recipe from the River Cottage preserves handbook (page)

Sweet Cucumber Pickle

500g cucumber
1 medium/large onion
100ml cider vinegar
220g granulated sugar
1/2 tsp salt

– Cut the cucumber in half length ways and halve the onion, then slice them as thin as possible.
– Mix the sugar, vinegar and salt together.
– Combine all of this in a bowl and leave to stand, preferably overnight before decanting into a airtight container and storing in the fridge. Fits almost perfectly in a 500ml kilner clip jar!

3 thoughts on “Vegbox pickle!

  1. I have made similar but sometimes add dill tops (fresh or dried) for a slightly different flavour. It used to be called bread and butter pickle cos it makes good sarnies.

Leave a Reply

